"The collection offers many worthy entries." —Kirkus

"Rather than providing tidy solutions to the characters’ dilemmas, the stories focus on the feelings of entrapment and anxiety that go along with living a lie." —Publishers Weekly

"This collection will resonate with many young adults who have their own secrets as well as readers who vicariously live through the risqué lifestyles of others.... A very discussible title for fans of Chris Lynch’s and Ellen Hopkins’s hard-hitting realistic fiction." —School Library Journal

"A collection to treasure and share widely." —Booklist

"The assortment of approaches to the theme of our secret selves offers plenty of surprises for the reader." —Horn Book

"A thought- provoking collection." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Things I'll Never Say

Ann Angel (Editor)
Candlewick / 2015

Fifteen top young-adult authors let us in on provocative secrets in a fascinating collection that will have readers talking.

A baby no one knows about. A dangerous hidden identity. Off-limits hookups. A parent whose problems your friends won’t understand. Everyone keeps secrets—from themselves, from their families, from their friends—and secrets have a habit of shaping the lives around them. Acclaimed author Ann Angel brings together some of today’s most gifted YA authors to explore, in a variety of genres, the nature of secrets: Do they make you stronger or weaker? Do they alter your world when revealed? Do they divide your life into what you'll tell and what you won't? The one thing these diverse stories share is a glimpse into the secret self we all keep hidden.

With stories by:
Ann Angel
Kerry Cohen
Louise Hawes
Varian Johnson
erica l. kaufman
Ron Koertge
E. M. Kokie
Chris Lynch
Kekla Magoon
Zoë Marriott
Katy Moran
J. L. Powers
Mary Ann Rodman
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Ellen Wittlinger

Find it at IndieBound  |  Find it at Amazon  |  Find it at B&N